Tags

, ,

It’s the end of the year, and over the holidays I’m going to be doing a bit of reflection on the roles/rights/goals of young researchers.  This will be primarily through reviews and recommendations of the books that have most helped me structure my research career, with perhaps a pop science article or two thrown in for good measure.

The planned reading list:

Getting What you Came For – The Smart Student’s Guide to a PhD

A PhD is Not Enough! – A Guide to Survival in Science

Making the Right Moves – A Practical Guide to Scientific Management for Postdocs and New Faculty

Stacking the Deck/Mentoring Mismatch/Graduate Student Compact

 

If you’ve got a favourite book in this theme comment or email me (Brandon.Findlay|zoho.com).  I can’t promise that I’ll have time to cover everything, but I’ll do what I can.

